Arm torture

I think my shoulders/upper arms are going to fall off!  As I’ve mentioned, it’s been a while since I’ve been in the pool on a regular basis.  This morning, I just blindly (sleepily) grabbed a workout from my swim bag and hit the lap pool—when I looked at what I pulled my eyes almost popped out of my goggles!  3600m–um, yeah, I’m definitely not ready for that yet, better cut it down to just 3000m especially since I did power flow yoga at lunch yesterday and we included a bunch of shoulder work.  In hindsight, this wasn’t my brightest move ever, but it felt surprisingly good at the time.  It wasn’t until the last 400 that my arms started their rebellion.

[Insert the pic I tried to take of my pruned fingers]– unfortunately, the combination of using my phone and sprinting for the closest food source = a random pic of blurred whiteness.  I’ll spare you.

In case you were wondering, here’s my set (completed in about 65 minutes):
Warm Up: 300 swim; 100 kick; 200 pull; 100 kick; 100 swim
Main Set (15 sec rest between each group):
2 x 300m swim
2 x 200 IM (had to use fins for the fly portion- ouch)
2 x 200 swim
4 x 100 alternate IM/swim
400 pull

Tomorrow, I’m going to attempt my first outdoor bike ride in far, far too long.  Wish me luck!  BTW, weekly outfit pics will be posted either later tonight or tomorrow.  Cheers!

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Arm torture

  1. Courtney says:

    Nice swim set! And good job getting 3600 m in a little over an hour. How was the bike ride?

    • Bike ride was good, but I must admit my booty was talking to me when i got back on the spin bike this morning. 🙂 Felt good to get some miles in again. How was your tri this weekend?

      • Courtney says:

        Haha. I’m not sure if there’s a cure for talking booties. Might want to get that checked out. It’s incredible how you slowly feel better after a few rides back in the saddle. I always hate that first ride back after a hiatus though! The tri was great. Short and fun. My favorite thing about the race was the venue…or maybe the free beer afterwards.

      • Definitely the free beer- best part of a race to me 😉 especially since I shouldn’t drink it (gluten free) so it’s my reward.

Leave a Reply

