Hats off to Sunday

How do you accessorize a dress with a non-removable self belt?  Why, with a hat of course.  In an effort to prove the British aren’t the only ones who can wear hats to all occasions, I donned one Sunday morning for church.  (Yes, insert the “you know you live in the South when” comment here- although technically I live in the SW, but who’s counting.)

B loves it when I wear hats, and let’s face it they are a really fun and slightly unexpected accessory.  I added some flowers (super quick DIY project) to this plain navy hat to punch up the style and color and tie it in nicely with the bright orange dress. It’s a simple outfit really, but the hat just makes it feel polished and pulled together.  I got tons of compliments; which, let’s face it, always make a girl’s day!

I’m loving the pocket trend in dresses and skirts lately.  It’s nice to have a place to stash lip gloss or the car key without having to carry a purse.  Although one of these days, I’ll have to take pictures with some of my purse collection…

So what say you, pockets or no pockets?

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hats off to Sunday

  1. Courtney says:

    Cute hat! And definitely pockets. I have been contemplating adding a few to my currently pocketless dresses.

  2. Brittney says:

    YES to pockets! a hearty yes, at that. and you could NOT look more adorable if you tried. i’m an amateur long-distance runner myself (missed boston qualification by 41 seconds last fall. doh!) and am amazed at you triathletes. anyways. hi.
    -brittney
    http://adayinlifetoo.blogspot.com (fellow 30×30 remixer; come on by if you’d like!)

  3. Too cute!! I am so not fashionable so though I love those things, I end up not buying them because I feel silly.

    • I was the same way!! I credit my husband with getting my out of my comfort zone and into hats. I’m still a little self conscious, but I literally received at least a dozen in person compliments on this one!

  4. Jenny Mahne says:

    I ADORE A HAT! And pockets!

  5. Libby says:

    Love the hat! And a definite YES to pockets. Great look!

  6. Pingback: 7 links | fashionable miles

  7. Pingback: Repeat Dressing | fashionable miles

Leave a Reply

