Modified Fall Layers

 11.21.2011 outfit1

 11.21.2011 outfit2

Shirt, Sequin Top, Skirt and bracelets: J Crew
Shoes: Cole Haan
Watch: Omega (10th Anniversary gift from B)

If you know me at all you know there are 2 things I really love- fall clothing (hello, layers) and J Crew.  Yes, some might even say it’s a problem but I just say it’s a solution to my every clothing dilemma.  Today, as I was putting together this outfit, I had to laugh given a recent conversation with a friend about the amount of J Crew in my closet.  So Natalie, this one’s for you.

On the layers front, I absolutely adore the layered look.  It just makes an outfit so much more polished in my book when you add textures and patterns via layers.  Since traditional fall layering pieces and 80 degree temperatures don’t mix well, I decided to test my creativity.  Using a muted, almost monochromatic color palette gives this outfit a fall vibe but the short sleeves, thin material of the shell (worn as a vest) and skirt with bare legs make it an ideal compromise when Mother Nature forgot it was November 21.

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Modified Fall Layers

  1. lindsay says:

    i love the layered look. Its very festive and flattering. Cute shoes too!

    • Thank you! The shoes are seriously some of my favorites ever- I wear the heck out of them and almost cried when I got the heel caught in the gap between the elevator and the floor the other day. Nothing a sharpie can’t fix. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about you new adventures in NZ- although I’m seriously sad we never managed to get together while you were in ATX just 2 hours down the road.

  2. Natalie W. says:

    Ha! Love it. This was a pretty sweet outfit so I have to give J Crew (and you) some props.

Leave a Reply

