Taking Things in Stride

Yesterday’s run should have been speed work.  It should have ended up around 9 miles with an average somewhere in the mid-7’s.  Oh yes, the run should have been 2×1 mile cruise (7:15 pace) followed by 4 Yasso 800’s (3:27) finishing with 2×1 mile cruise (7:15 pace).  The run should have been all those things, but alas, it wasn’t.

I did a 1 mile warm up and felt sluggish but just kept going thinking I would get into the groove.  Let’s face it the first mile doesn’t usually feel good for me so this wasn’t exactly a red flag.  At the end of the mile I tried to pick it up to the plan pace, but realized it just wasn’t going to happen.  I decided to modify the plan and just do what I could.  I played a lot of mental games with myself out on the trail yesterday.  I also set a lot of “mini goals” along the way to keep me going.  You know what, it worked.  I went further than I originally thought I would and my “fast” paces weren’t that far off the goal paces.

TOTALS: 6.8 miles/53:36/7:54 avg

I’ve been open about the fact that I really want this to be my year for a BQ (well, technically it will be next year, but this “season”).  So far, my training is indicating the goal is within my reach.  My other goal for this cycle is to not let the little things (like a run that didn’t go according to plan) get me down or break my mental focus.  I’m averaging almost a minute per mile faster than last year at this time.  That’s a HUGE gain for me, and I couldn’t be happier about it.  I’m looking forward to getting back on the horse asphalt and owning the remaining 2 runs on this week’s schedule (tempo and distance).  Then I’m looking forward to cut back week!!

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

