Track Tuesday (treadmill style)

Tuesday morning, I was the ultimate whimp.  I kept telling myself it was due to being sick for the last week and a 1/2, but the reality is I think I was just looking for an excuse.  I got up with my 4:40AM alarm, dressed, drove to the track, discovered it was cold, windy and misting then proceeded to drive back home.  Without running.  Yup, I was that girl.  Lame.

Although the forecast said it would clear during the day, it didn’t so I summoned all my determination and headed to the gym for some treadmill time.  I cannot tell you how thankful I am to have discovered the joys of Netflix for the iPad.  It seriously made my workout not only bearable but actually enjoyable.  A-mazing.

Warm Up- 2 miles increasing the pace as I went to a 8:20
Main Set (all distances at Tempo pace): 2000 (8.0/~7:30 pace); 1600 (8.2/~7:20); 800 (8.4/7:10); 400 (8.4/7:10); 800 (8.4/7:10); 1600 (8.2/7:20); 2000 (8.2/7:20)
Cool Down: 1.5 miles (between 8-8:15 pace)
Total: 10 miles/1:19:44/7:58 pace

My favorite part of speed/track workouts?  The fact that after pushing for the “shorter” intervals, the cool down pace seems so easy.  I’m becoming really comfortable running between 8-8:15 which is a HUGE improvement for me.  I’m excited to see how this plays out in both of my races this weekend. 

I’m still debating how hard I want to run Saturday’s 5K since my “A” race for the weekend is Sunday’s 30K.  I know I don’t just want to cruise Saturday because I want the practice running hard on tired legs.  I also don’t think I want to try for a PR in the 5K because I don’t want to get injured.  Thoughts, opinions…experience with these decisions?

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Races, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Track Tuesday (treadmill style)

  1. Corey says:

    I am actually very impressed that you hit up the treadmill after skipping it in the morning. If I don’t get it done in the a.m., it pretty much doesn’t happen! Spread some of that afternoon motivation my way?

    • It’s actually a joke in our house that I don’t usually leave the house after dark. It was no small miracle that I actually went to the gym. I’m just trying to keep my eyes on the prize- it’s so close and I don’t want to do anything that could make me wonder “what if”…

Leave a Reply

