Wilchester Jingle Bell Fun Run (5K)

Saturday morning, Batch and I ran our neighborhood school’s first annual fun run.  It’s a fundraiser for the school and since it was about .25 from our house, a no brainer that we would enter.  They really emphasized the “fun” part of the run and didn’t have any prizes or official timing.  It was fine with us since we were racing again on Sunday and just planning to “cruise” for the 5K. 

Christmas socks and a Santa hat?  Don’t mind if I do!  (BTW, reflective running gear also reflects camera flashes.)
12.10.11 wilchester 5k 
Thanks for Meghann for the heads up on these socks at Target for $5.

I loved that they really got the kids in the school involved in the race:

12.10.11 wilchester 5k 5
(yes, that’s Batch and I in the center behind all the munchkins).

12.10.11 wilchester 5k 2
Bringing blankets to a chilly race start = Best. Idea. Ever.  Our #1 cheerleader of the weekend, my mom!  She was such a trooper and a great support for us at both races!

The surprise of the day?

12.10.11 wilchester 5k 412.10.11 wilchester 5k 3 
I WON the female division of the race (and got to “high 5” the Chick-Fil-A cow)!!  No prizes, no problem, I’ll just take this water bottle.  Although it wasn’t a serious race, it was still fun to cross the finish line first.  We both got nice shiny new 5K PR’s too- not too shabby for “not intending to race.”  I know we could both go faster, but we were saving our legs for Sunday’s 30K.  More on that one later…

TOTAL: 5K (3.13 miles per Garmin)/22:59/7:21 pace

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Fun Times, Races and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wilchester Jingle Bell Fun Run (5K)

  1. Corey says:

    Congrats!!! Looks like fun! I wish I was doing a race that would give me a good reason to go buy (and run in) those cute socks! Good luck Sunday! Looking forward to hearing about it!

  2. danica says:

    I have run a Jingle Bell Run before and I loved it! Thanks for the comment on my Donation post! 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by- and your welcome for the donation comment. It was my first holiday short run because it’s always marathon season so I really enjoyed it. Definitely a tradition in the making!

Leave a Reply

