The Taper Lazies

Let’s face it, when most marathoners hear the word taper, they cringe knowing it goes hand in hand with the “taper crazies”.  That feeling of itching to go for a long run, but knowing you need to rest your legs.  And most training cycles, I agree. 

This year, not so much.  I find I’m skipping workouts on a fairly regular basis, and I don’t even have the same level of guilt that usually plagues me when I slack.  I haven’t skipped any runs, but I have skipped my usual twice weekly spin classes.  Weights?  Haven’t touched those since before Christmas.  Should I be worried…I’m honestly not sure.  I’m calling it “listening to my body” and moving on.  Work is really busy so perhaps my body really does just need some extra rest.  With only 10 days until the marathon, I’m going to focus the positive (and finding related Bible verses) and on how I want to run this race. 

Ah, so what are my goals for the Houston Marathon?  I’m not sure I’m going to post those here yet…if you follow me on twitter, I spilled the beans a while back.  It’s a BIG goal, but if you don’t “dream big” you never know what you might accomplish.  I’ve got the best running partner I could ask for in my husband.  He knows how to motivate me- when to be tough and when to use soft words.  I’m so thankful he’ll be by my side on January 15th. 

I Corinthians 13: 4 Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant 5 or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; 6 it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. 7 Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Races, Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

