“Track” Tuesday

Due to some bad weather moving through Houston yesterday, and my inability to get up in the morning, I moved my track session inside to the treadmill.  Overall it was a good run.  I started out feeling a little sluggish and my legs were heavy, but they loosened up as the miles ticked by and didn’t even protest too much with the speed.

Since my aborted attempt at a marathon a few weeks ago, and my intention to try again in a few weeks, I just went with some mile repeats at ‘cruise’ pace (~7:15/mile).

Warm Up: 1 mile ~9 min (included some walking at first)
4 x 1 mile repeats @ 8.3 (7:13/mile) with 1/4 mile recoveries @ 7.2-7.5 (8:00-8:20/mile)
Cool down: 3/4 mile (varying speeds- recovered a little from the last mile repeat then picked it up a little and included some incline)

TOTAL: 6 miles/46:36/7:46 pace

HIP UPDATE:  I stretched and foam rolled like it was my job after this run.  My hip was definitely making itself known once I stopped running, but not as much while I was running.  As time goes on, I’m beginning to believe it’s something along the lines of a piriformis issue.  If I apply pressure to a certain spot on my butt, the hip feels fine.  Taking that into account, I’ve been doing stretches and some strengthening exercises to help those muscles.  I also “hang” after every workout (use a pull up bar and just let my body weight stretch out my body)- this was recommended by my sports doc and seems to really help.  Still no final decision on a 2nd attempt race, but there are 2 races I’m eyeing.

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Track” Tuesday

  1. Terzah says:

    Glad the track session on the treadmill went well. I have a touchy left piriformis issue too–I’m actually going to go see my doc about it–it’s not always an issue, but when it is I’m so stiff in the morning that it’s hard to get out of bed, and I feel it not only in the hip but down my hamstring and up into my back. Ugh. It’s a touchy little muscle, isn’t it?!

  2. kilax says:

    Awesome workout! Even though I don’t care for the treadmill, I do think it’s awesome for speedwork!

    I hope your hip feels 100% better soon 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    Great workout! I’m determined to get more speed work in next training cycle. I was worried after coming off an injury this summer, and stuck to a very conservative training plan this fall. I think I’m ready to add it in now. Hope the hip continues to strengthen and improve!

Leave a Reply

