This Groundhog saw her shadow…

…and it means 4-8 weeks of no running!  ARGH!  Talk about complete frustration.  After my aborted marathon in Houston, we thought we figured out what happened and how to “fix” it.  Things were going well.  I was running a little (2 days a week) and cross training to keep my endurance up.  Stretching, foam rolling, icing- basically, I was being a very good girl. 

A good week turned disastrous in the blink of an eye:

Monday- I did a lunch time spin class then B called mid-afternoon and said he wanted to run.  I was feeling good and needed (mentally and physically) to get some faster paced miles under my belt.  I agreed to meet him after work and did ~7 miles at an 8 min/mile average.  Decent.  Mildly uncomfortable/stiff after the run, but nothing like the marathon.

Tuesday- Final determination doctor’s appointment.  I checked out ok.  Things were looking good.  The doc only had a small hesitation about my running which he said was based on the extra stress of running a faster pace than my previous marathon attempts.  Batch and I talked and my mental toughness kicked in and said “I’m in, let’s do this.”

Wednesday- Per doctor’s orders, I took it easy.  I felt like I was getting a slight cold anyway, so I welcomed the extra hour of sleep.  After a 1 hour meeting at work, I got up and my back felt a little “tight”- interesting.  I went back to my desk and proceeded to sneeze.  That was it- the end- taken to the ground (almost literally) by a sneeze. 

The issue is no longer presenting in my hip.  It’s 100% my back.  There’s some concern it’s a disc issue (wouldn’t be the first time for me, I had disc surgery in 2002) which I really hope it’s not, but for now, it means no running.  Zero.  

It’s ugly.  It’s painful (literally- my body is stuck in a C formation- and emotionally). It just plain sucks. 

So, there you have it.  At least for now, this will be more “fashionable” than “miles.”  I know I’m blessed this is my first trip to the DL in running (12 years), but I was enjoying my streak.  Sigh.

Happy Weekend! 

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Races, Training, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to This Groundhog saw her shadow…

  1. Corey says:

    I am so sorry to hear this. I hoped so bad for you that you would be able to turn around and get your “redemption” race after Houston. Lots of positive and healing thoughts are coming your way from South Carolina! In the meantime, enjoy that sexy new bike!

  2. cynthia says:

    oh no! Bigtime bummer that you are injured. Hope it’s not the disc issue. fashion posts are good too. I’m not a pink or animal print person ( those don’t work so well on us old ladies..) but they look good on you. Plus – you can never go wrong with a pair of boots!

  3. Terzah says:

    I’m so sorry about your back. Hopefully you can get to the bottom of it and get going on healing it quickly.

  4. Laura says:

    Oh, no! How frustrating! Especially after such an awesome workout on Monday and feeling okay… so sorry you have to deal with this. I’m impressed it’s your first time being sidelined from running. You’ll be back stronger than ever and still get that marathon done at some point. Try to stay positive, but feel free to whine when you need to!

  5. Pingback: Houston, We have a Diagnosis | fashionable miles

Leave a Reply

