Hello, Summer!

I hope y’all had a fabulous Memorial Day weekend.  Mine consisted of lots of sweat sessions, lots of pool time (which was really another sweat session), $1 margaritas and other perfect randomness.

For the first time in forever (really just 3 months, but seriously, that feels like forever), I was able to get a good workout in every day this weekend.  The heat and humidity of summer have definitely arrived, but I embraced them fueled by my little box of happiness.

Friday: 2800 m swim 
200 w/u 
4×50 IM (1 lap of each stroke)
8×100 intervals
5×200 (I mixed these up- some free, some pull, some kick)
6×100 (off free, even stroke)

Saturday: 21 miles cycling (outdoor)  Rode with the Lifetime Fitness Cycle Club.  Small group this week since IMTX was last week, but it was great to be back out there.  I still love my new bike!!  I wanted to ride longer, but Batch had another commitment so we did the really short route.

Sunday: 6.3 miles running  LATE start = HOT temperatures.  As I mentioned above, summer has arrived and it’s brutal out there.  I stuck it out repeating my motto that I never regret a run– even when the run isn’t as great as I’d hoped it would be.

Monday: 2400 m swim 
400 w/u 
6×300 (200 free + 100 kick with 20 sec rest)
200 c/d

I ran again this morning (7.4 miles- longest run post-injury!), but I think claiming Tuesday as part of my “killer weekend” is taking things a little too far.

The good news with all these workouts?  I’m sore, but only the “good” sore not the “I still have a nagging injury” sore.  SUCCESS!  I’ve also taken the plunge and signed up for a race.  Some friends and I will be running the SFM 1/2 (1st half) on July 29th.  I’m super excited but also a little nervous.  I’ve mentioned how flat Houston is right?  Looks like I’ll become very familiar with the levees and parking garages around town between now and July.

How did you celebrate the long weekend?

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Fun Times, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hello, Summer!

  1. Terzah says:

    Glad you had a good weekend’s worth of workouts! Houston is so hard for hill training. I remember running the same hill up and down in Hermann Park when I was training for my first marathon there.

  2. Corey says:

    I can think of no better way to spend a long weekend than with lots of workouts (combined with lots of naps)! In fact, that is how I spent my weekend too! I have to stop and remember what it was like living in Houston when I complain about the heat and humidity here!

  3. Laura says:

    Wow, you’re getting in some quality workouts! Terzah mentioned the hill in Hermann park, I just ran by it the other day and thought the same thing- that it would make a great hill repeat hill if I ever need to train for hills! Congrats on signing up for SF!

Leave a Reply

