Recovering my groove

First of all, yes, it’s been a while since I posted.  To say life has been hectic would be a major understatement.  Lots of curve balls on the professional front, and a minor set back on the running/training/recovery front have made for long days with not much down time.

Let’s start with the fun stuff- or not so fun since we’re talking about a set back.  After a  few weeks of “normal” training (hello, I got to attend Track Tuesday), I went for a run on a Thursday morning and felt tired from the start but didn’t think much more about it.  As the run progressed and the nagging pull in my back/hip became more intense, I started mentally tallying my miles and training sessions over the past several days and realized I had accidentally gone 8 days with no rest day.  Oops. 

It wasn’t intentional, my workouts hadn’t been that intense or long in duration, but my body still isn’t where it was a year ago (8 days in a row with doubles at least twice, no biggie).  It still needs rest days.  It also requires days in the pool which I had been foregoing.  Ok, back, lesson learned.  I’ll swim at least twice once a week and rest at least once a week.

On the professional front, I don’t talk much about my job here since it’s probably quite boring to most of you, but I’m a “finance manager” which for most companies would probably be called “director of finance and accounting.”   My company is doing some strategic planning right now which has required long hours of pouring over Excel models and conference calls with Board members in varying time zones determining what assumptions we want to build into the models.  It’s all good stuff, but done over a shortened time frame (can we plan the next 5 years in the next 2 weeks days) can be a bit stressful.  There have also been some changes in the company, and we all know, change is hard.

I don’t mean this to be a rant or “excuse”- just a summary of life recently and a simple request.  Please help keep me accountable.  For my training, for blog posting and for remembering that work is but an aspect of life.  Thanks friends, and happy Friday!!!

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Recovering my groove

  1. Terzah says:

    There definitely are times like those! You’ll get the groove back when it’s time. Meanwhile, yes! Be nice to your back! :^)

  2. Laura says:

    Work sounds intense! Hope things lighten up soon. And that your back is feeling back to normal… I often expect more out of my body than it’s willing to give me, I don’t know when I’ll stop learning the hard way!
    Hoping to take your bike out for a ride tomorrow… so excited! 🙂

    • so glad you enjoyed the bike ride!!! i managed an “almost” double digit on the 4th with 9.6 miles of running. might go for 10 on saturday if all still feels ok. 🙂 looking like i’ll be here for the tri…

  3. Raquelita says:

    I just came across your blog, which I have to say that I love after perusing your archives. We share a love of running and of style.
    Back pain is the absolute worst, so I hope that you’re feeling better soon!

    • thanks for stopping by and for the compliment! i’m slowly but surely getting back in the groove after injury. i just have to keep reminding myself that this is the “new normal” and it’s ok to slow down and appreciate the small victories. cheers!

  4. Corey says:

    Sounds familiar ( on the wok front). I work right near Our finance manager (we call him Business Manager) and he went through this same thing about 2 years ago. The rest of us just had o contribute small pieces and didn’t have as much burden.

    Get that back healed and stay strong!!

Leave a Reply

