Packing Nerd

It’s no secret that as an accountant I’ve become a bit of an Excel nerd.  Given that, it shouldn’t really come as any surprise that when packing for trips, I use my beloved spreadsheets to make the job a little less hectic and to ensure no key item is left behind.

Once upon a time, packing for a trip meant clothes and cuss words flying late into the night before a flight.  All that changed by the entry of the packing list.  Big sigh (of relief- mostly for Batch).  Now, I “pack” on paper, by day, before even getting the suitcase out of the closet.  The results?  Less over (or worse, under) packing and much less time cursing what I didn’t bring.

image

I put known activities and weather at the top and then make outfits accordingly.  Once I get it all down in Excel, I bring out the suitcase and start packing.  The nice thing about packing on paper first is that I can start slowly in the weeks/days leading up to a trip.  When I think of an outfit I know I want to pack, I’ll add it to the spreadsheet.  It saves me time and TONS of energy.  As you can tell, I still have some work to do on the above list, but I have some ideas so I don’t think it will be long before the suitcase is ready to roll.  Good thing since my flight leaves tomorrow morning!!!

Do you plan ahead when packing for trips or am I the only planner nerd out there? 

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Packing Nerd

  1. I recognize this. 🙂 Your packing spreadsheets have come to aid my own packing/planning deficits before. – As you know, I call you when I’m packing, so you can share your packing expertise (and sometimes your spreadsheets). Have fun in SF, and good luck! I’ll be virtually cheering for my packing coach!

  2. Thunder says:

    Omg….I actually *totally* do the same thing!!!!! Showing my husband your post to prove I’m not the only crazy one! Thanks for sharing!!

  3. So it’s not normal to use excel for planning everything??! haha, I love Excel, I am no expert but it sure makes life easier =)

  4. Leah says:

    I’ve always jotted down outfits on notepaper. I like the idea of a spreadsheet, as it would be less likely to be lost. Now I just need to learn how to create one. 🙂

    LG

  5. Laura says:

    My husband used excel for EVERYTHING, too. I just make huge lists on paper– I like being able to cross it off myself. 🙂 How was the half?!

    • i like to cross stuff off lists too, but have found that highlighting it in excel is almost as good. sometimes i print the final version and use it when actually putting things into my suitcase so that definitely involved crossing things off. yes, i’m a super nerd! 🙂 the 1/2 was so much fun!! great race!!

  6. Tanya says:

    I love your packing list idea. I usually make a list, but I don’t structure it by day/activity and I ALWAYS over pack. I recently returned from a 2 our vacation and realized that I had packed about 25 items I didn’t wear at all! YIKES. Stealing your spreadsheet organization for future trips!

    • Tanya says:

      2 week* vacation, I mean

    • Steal away please- always happy to help others with excel nerd organization! 🙂 I think I mentioned this, but I don’t usually wear the outfits on the days I put in the spreadsheet, but it helps me know I have the appropriate attire for each planned activity. Happy vacationing and thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

