Track Tuesday

After missing track for the last 2 weeks my legs were itching to find some speed this morning.  Jo emailed the workout early this week so I had most yesterday to get pumped for some Yasso 800’s.  I know my training so far hasn’t been where it needs to be so this would be a good benchmark for my fitness and speed.  I was also hoping it would serve as a dose of reality- aka “get serious about this running stuff, Holly.”  Continuing the theme from my goals for the weekend, another WIN in the motivation category.

Warm-up: 1 mile @ 8:34 
Main Set: 800;s in
3:41
3:44
3:39
3:38
3:35
3:33
3:36
3:35 
Cool down: .55 @ 8:11

TOTALS: 7 miles/53:20/7:37 avg pace

The weather is cooler, the humidity a bit lower, and the birds were singing for this run.  Yes, I’m still riding my runner’s high and hope to never come down!

I also look at those paces and know they aren’t exactly where I’d like to be (aka my marathon goal time), but the baseline has been established.  There’s work to be done, and, finally, I’m motivated to do it!  (Oh, and yes, it was supposed to be 10 repeats, but a lack of bathroom facilities dictated an abrupt end to my workout #runnerproblems.  I think Corey and her HTC teammates said it best #dontshityourpants)

Happy Tuesday! 

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Track Tuesday

  1. Laura says:

    I just read Corey’s recap, too! 🙂 Awesome job on your 800’s… I’m finally feeling motivated to push again, too. I think the somewhat cooler weather has a lot to do with it!

  2. Terzah says:

    I hate those kinds of #runnerproblems! But a good speed workout is a confidence boost for sure, and Yasso 800s are *hard.* Good job!

  3. Corey says:

    hahaha! Yes, it is pretty much always a given for me in any run 🙂 You will definitely get your speed back where you want to it be. It is there, the cooler weather and some more time on your feet and it will magically jump right back out to find you 🙂

Leave a Reply

