Tempo Thursday

Track Tuesday has been a staple for over a year now.  A funny thing happened when I planned my marathon training schedule – Thursday became “Tempo (or Threshold) Thursday”- apparently RunCoach likes to stick with alliterations too.

I have to admit, so far I’ve been a giant failure at Tempo Thursdays.  I typically use it as my long run for the week since I’ve been cycling on Saturdays (my plan’s LR day).  Today, the weather was PERFECT so we combined Tempo Thursday and a LR.  I know, I know, not exactly coach approved, but it worked, and I seriously felt like I could have run an entire marathon this morning.

RUN TOTALS: 12.17 miles/1:42:12/8:23 avg pace

There were definitely negative splits and the last 4 miles were at or below MGP.  HUGE success and I’m still riding the runners high from that one.

Fun fact, did you know the Shuttle Endeavor is on it’s way to LA?  Yeah, I didn’t think so.  Well, this morning it left Houston for the last time.  Houston, the home of Mission Control, was not selected to “keep” a shuttle.  So sad, BUT it meant a slow (as slow as airplanes can go) fly by over the entire city starting at 7am.  Knowing this was going to happen, I decided to run with my phone (thanks Oiselle distance shorts) so I could snap a few pics.  Please see below as exhibits A & B why I shouldn’t be allowed to be in charge of the camera.

Endeavor 1  Endeavor 2

Oh, the shuttle’s out of view, let me take a crystal clear picture of the sky/trees.  #FAILEndeavor 3

Hindsight being 20/20, I realized I should have video’d the fly over and then frozen pics from there.  No do-over on this one, but at least we saw it in person.  As a child who once aspired to be an astronaut, it made me a little teary and gave me goosebumps.  Love being a part of history.

Happy Thursday!!

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Fun Times, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tempo Thursday

  1. Terzah says:

    That’s sad about the shuttle leaving Houston….I wanted to be an astronaut at one point, too. It didn’t work out, which is probably a good thing given my tendency to motion sickness. :^)

    I’m glad you had such a satisfying run.

  2. Corey says:

    It’s official! SHE’S BACK!!!! Awesome long run! So glad that things are going well with running and you are getting back to where you were before the injury! What are you signed up for next? The Jacksonville Women’s race, right?

    • thank you so much for the sweet comment and encouragement! it’s nice to finally feel like i’m regaining my strength and speed. next 26.2 is houston on jan 13th- i’ve got a bone to pick with that race and it’s hard to pass up the local event!

  3. Pingback: Overcoming My Fears | fashionable miles

Leave a Reply

