Wearable Wednesday

I realize it’s been a while since I posted some “fashion” here so before I get to today’s post, I want to share a little back story.  I posted about the ugly side of injuries, but something I didn’t touch on then was how it affected my hormones.  TMI?  Maybe, but if it helps someone else, totally worth putting myself out there. 

I’ve had (diagnosed) hormonal imbalances (my body only produces estrogen) for almost 2 years now.  We’ve chosen a natural (bio-identical supplements, etc) approach to my treatment and changing my level of activity due to injury totally messed with the plan.  Whether it’s purely from the hormone issues or it’s a combination of reduced activity, some depression over the situation and hormone issues, my pants don’t button and 1/2 my skirts create a sausage effect when I put them on.  I’m not saying I’m fat- most of the time I couldn’t tell you how much I weigh.  My benchmark has been “do my clothes fit?” Right now, the answer is “not so much”.  As part of overcoming my fears, I’m not going to “hide” anymore.  I’m going to embrace the body I have right now and start showing you how I’m dressing it!

9.26.2012 outfit 1  9.26.2012 outfit 2  9.26.2012 outfit 3

Shirt/Pants/Necklace: J Crew
Shoes: Nine West
Watch: Target
Bracelets: Charming Charlie, J Crew factory, wedding present

I’m literally wearing this today- been a while since I was timely with an outfit post.  The pants are a fairly recent addition to my closet, but I have been trying to add navy slacks to my wardrobe for years now.  I really wanted a more “professional” pair (i.e. not chinos), but these were on super sale and the fit was good so I couldn’t pass it up.  The shirt is one of the first J Crew purchases I made post-Katrina.   I love that it’s been a timeless top for me.  I must also say, outfit credit to my husband.  As I mentioned above, I’ve had a hard time “liking” my outfits lately so I laid 3 shirts out with these pants and he picked.  He rocks.

Happy Wednesday!  Hope I didn’t scare you off with my talk of hormones!! 

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wearable Wednesday

  1. Corey says:

    You look fantastic! Honestly, I know only we know when we have put on a little bit of weight, but looking at these pictures, I would NEVER know. You look great 🙂

    • you are too kind! i honestly do go by clothing feel and right now that feeling is “tight with a side of uncomfortable”- but i’m working on it! kicking my training into gear should help tremendously! i’ve also added pilates (reformer) to my routine. love it so far!

Leave a Reply

