Space City 10 Miler Race Recap

You’ve probably heard most of this by now, but it was HOT and HUMID in Houston this weekend.  No that’s not exactly newsworthy, but it did mean my slightly sick body wasn’t happy to race on Sunday.

After resting all day Saturday in an attempt to rid my body of whatever was trying to invade it, I popped up ready to go with my 4AM alarm Sunday morning.  We had gotten our stuff together the night before

IMG_0666so race morning was hassle free and we were out the door by 5AM to pick up Vivian on our way to Clear Lake for the race. 

This was a smaller race and the venue was great- lots of porta potties and decent post-race food.  There was an option to pick up packets race morning and there were plenty of volunteers manning the lines.  Good job Space City/OTR!!  The parking was literally next to the finish line so leaving stuff in our car and going back and forth was easy. 

Batch and I met up with Emilia and Laura for a few “warm up miles” before the race.  I think we should have known there was an issue when we were all sweating profusely from those easy 2 miles. 

10.14.2012 space city 1 
Look at all the Oiselle love in this pic!!

After grabbing some water and a final trip to the porta potties, we lined up and were off.  The course is an easy loop through Clear Lake and is pancake flat.  Unfortunately, it’s also not shaded.  Thankfully there was a little cloud cover, but it wasn’t enough to combat the almost 80* temps and 85% humidity.  I felt ok through about 6 miles then the wheels came off this train.  I was having a mental battle but I refused to give up.  Batch was in a similar situation so we weren’t able to push each other.  I took a 30 sec walk-break at mile 8 then decided it was game on to the finish.  I just picked out other runners and decided I had to maintain my distance from them or pass them.  This strategy worked until the last 2/10ths of a mile when I was just totally spent.  I didn’t stop, but there definitely wasn’t a finishing kick happening.  I crossed the finish line, handed my hand-held to my mom and made a beeline for the porta potties- heat, cold medicine and adrenaline do not mix well. 

We took advantage of the post-race massages and were so glad we did!  They were GREAT!  I’m usually lukewarm on post-race massages, but Koala Wellness had their act together and their people knew how to work on runners.  Kudos Koala!

TOTALS: 10.1 miles/1:21:53/8:08 pace/7th AG

I’m not proud of my time.  I know I’m capable of better, but this race did serve as a wake-up call for my marathon  training.  I don’t have the base I normally do going into marathon season and it showed today.  I usually spend the summer racing triathlons so my body is equipped to handle heat.  That’s not the case this year.  I’m motivated.  I’ve made some changes to my plan already.  Now I just need to execute.  Learning from my failure…

Houston Half in 2 weeks…. 

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Races and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Space City 10 Miler Race Recap

  1. Terzah says:

    Given the heat and humidity it sounds like you did pretty well to me! I would have wilted halfway in.

  2. elizabeth says:

    i wouldn’t call it a “failure” just a learning lesson. 🙂 you still had a great race for the weather-but now you know what you want, and how to get there. good for you! hopefully the humidity is going away soon!

  3. Corey says:

    Don’t beat yourself up too much about a tough race in tough conditions when you aren’t feeling 100%! I am sure it gives you some sense of where you are at, but since you weren’t feeling well, it doesn’t define your fitness at all!

  4. Laura says:

    As others have said, running in that humidity is rough- it’s hard to really gauge where you’re at, especially being sick the day before. But it was so fun to see you and Batch again! Love the pic of our Oiselle love, too. 🙂

  5. Lauren says:

    I know it wasn’t the race you wanted, but I still think you did great…all things considered. AND the fact that you raced in such tough conditions will only make you stronger. I think it’s these types of grueling, physically and mentally challenging races that can serve to benefit you the most during marathon training. Hopefully the temps and humidity will come down soon…along with your times! 🙂

    BTW – congratulations on the Oiselle team AND your SF Marathon Ambassadorship! So excited for you!!

  6. Lauren says:

    I just tried to comment but not sure if it went through…sorry if you get duplicates from me!

    Anyway, I wanted to say that I think you ran really well, all things considered! And that these types of races will make you a stronger runner…and marathoner! Hopefully the humidity and heat will drop soon. So just think how much faster you’ll be able to go when that happens! 🙂

    I also wanted to congratulate you on the Oiselle team and the SF Marathon Ambassadorship!

  7. Raquelita says:

    It sounds like you had a really pretty strong performance considering that you were under the weather and the humid conditions.

Leave a Reply

