Decision Time

Given all the changes going on in our lives these days, I’m seriously considering a race switch.  The Houston Marathon Committee gives entrants until December 31 to switch between races.  While my training started out strong (and included a few PRs), it has dwindled to the point where I’m not sure I can call myself a runner.  I skipped EVERY SINGLE RUN of my “peak week.”  Do I still think I can rally and finish a marathon?  Sure.  I know you don’t lose all your fitness in one week and there are still 24 days until the race.  The thing is Houston was supposed to be a goal race for me.  I was going to exact my revenge for last year’s DNF.  I was going to FINALLY get my BQ.   Sitting here today, I lack the confidence to believe I’m ready for those challenges.

So friends, here’s my question(s) oh wise internet running community…

Do I go for it and run the full and just let the chips fall where they may?  (i.e. could I really approach it with no pressure on myself?)

Do I switch to the 1/2 for Houston and regroup to focus on RNR NOLA (a race I’m already registered for- Feb 24th)?

Do I switch to the 1/2 for both Houston and NOLA and turn my sights to Eugene in April? 

Help, please!!

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Races, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Decision Time

  1. silvershadow157 says:

    Hmm, that’s a hard one. I would drop to the half…there’s no reason pushing a full if you’re not prepared.

  2. If I were in your shoes, I would totally still run Houston. Last year I skipped most of my peak week running because I went on a last-minute ski trip and when I came back I did my 22-mile run, which totally and completely sucked with dead skiing legs. Houston was supposed to be my revenge race last year after totally bonking at 2011 NYCM and I started to have doubts after that last long run. But I still ended up running sub-4, 11-minute PR, and 22 minutes faster than the bonktastic race 2 months earlier. You can do it! 🙂

    • thanks for the vote of confidence! we’re going to run 22 saturday…was going to base my decision on how that felt but given your experience maybe i should just go for it! 🙂 what did you decide to do this year?

      • The full is definitely out. 😦 Still not sure on the half. If I can do a 9-10 mile run before New Year’s Eve (deadline to make change) and it doesn’t suck, then I will do the half. Otherwise, just the 5K the day before….

  3. Can you defer the race or is it past that time? I had back to back injuries and missed the deferrment deadline for the Long Beach Half, so I transferred to do the 5k (my mom and gma were signed up so I walked with them 🙂 ). It was a hard decision, but I didn’t want to push myself and I DO NOT regret my decision one bit. I also had to defer my tinkerbell half in Jan to the disneyland half in Sept. So do what you think is best for your body 🙂 Good luck with whatever you choose!

  4. Batch says:

    Even if you don’t BQ, you could still PR and still overcome the DNF. You know where my vote it… I know you can do it. I love you immensely.

  5. Jocelyn says:

    I think you should drop down to the Half. There is no need to be a “Hero” at Houston. Save the BQ for Eugene, and do a proper training cycle. IMO. (Also selfishly I want to see you BQ in Eugene!)

    • Sorry I didn’t listen to you, BUT BQ in Houston is a long shot so it’s highly likely you’ll see be there for the event! 🙂 And if I do happen to BQ in Houston, I’ll just try to do it more decisively in Eugene! #flyfast #lucky13

  6. Terzah says:

    I’m late commenting, but wonder if you’ve decided yet…..I will be at Eugene, too, so it would be fun to have that be the big goal race for both of us, but I don’t think that means you shouldn’t run Houston too (even if you do it slowly and just enjoy the process, as I’m sure your endurance would allow).

    • I’m so excited you’ll be in Eugene also! There are SO MANY people I know running it! I’m going for it with Houston. Goals, but no goals and just letting the chips fall where they may. 🙂 Keep me posted on your Eugene plans so we can meet up!

Leave a Reply

