For Boston

I’ve contemplated what to write and how to put my feelings into words for the past 2 days and for the most part, I’ve just come up empty.  Stunned, shocked, horrified and ANGRY are just some of the many emotions I’ve felt since first hearing of the bombs in Boston.  I still feel like I’m a bit all over the place when I try to put it into words, so for the most part, I’m just going to link to a few other posts.

For me personally, what happened on Monday doesn’t make me scared to toe the line at Boston.  Quite the opposite.  I’m more determined than ever to run 26.2 miles through Eugene in honor and memory of those hurt in Boston…and hopefully along the way, find my own elusive BQ so I can stand united with other runners in 2014 at the starting line in Hopkinton.

I could talk about my anger that these attacks focused on the spectators, but Emily does it so well in her post, you’ll just have to go there.  Mom, I love you, thanks for joyfully rising before the sun to stand on cold streets for hours just to cheer us on!

I wasn’t in Boston on Monday, but here are a few personal accounts from people who were:

Lauren Fleshman – who was at the Fairmont Copley Hotel when the first bomb went off.
Peter Segal– who was a guide runner for Team with A Vision and had just crossed the finish line.
Lauren – who normally spectates in Copley Square, but was at Mile 10 this year.
Aron– watching online and via text with the rest of us as friends toed the line and finished the race.

There are countless other posts- all of which are worth it, I just picked a few to highlight here.  This is a tragedy we’ll never fully understand.  It will stay with us forever- highlighted by this image of the precious 8-year old Martin Richard who was killed

A photo of Martin Richard, the 8-year-old boy killed in the Marathon bombing, holding this sign has come to symbolize the tragedy worldwide.
(source)

Praying for the peace that passes all understanding.  Run safe, run strong, run united for Boston!

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Races and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

