It’s Race Week–Race Day Essentials #1 {Giveaway}

It’s race week!!!  In just 4 days, I’ll be on a plane flying west heading to my spring goal race.  The prospect of spending the better part of a day on a plane is made infinitely better by the fact that Corey is on my connecting flight from Chicago to Portland!!  I almost feel sorry for whomever else ends up in our row.  Hope they like running (and/or have moved recently)!!

Before I take off for Eugene, I wanted to share a few of my race day (and race prep) essentials with you.  Today’s essential involves attitude.  Marathon training is tough- not just physically, but mentally.  The amount of miles required, the time commitment, the additional number of trips to the grocery to feed your runger.  It all adds up and can tear you down.  That’s where a running (and life) mantra comes into play and become key.  For me, that mantra is BELIEVE.  It’s a word that holds so much meaning, but is also so simple.  If at the end of the day, or training cycle, I don’t BELIEVE I can accomplish my goals, then I’ve already lost.  It’s still scary to have big goals and dreams.  They still may not happen exactly when and where I’d like them too, but BELIEVING allows the doors to remain open regardless of the situation and/or set back. 

To help me remember this mantra, I use the Endorphin Warrior Training Bracelet.  I love this bracelet- it’s lightweight and fashionable!  I’m a huge fan of the stacked bracelet trend, and this one fits perfectly into my daily collection for casual wear.  The lightweight feel is perfect for training as I don’t notice the bracelet on my wrist in addition to my Garmin.

warrior bracelet believe 

The wonderful people at Endorphin Warrior want YOU to have your own mantra in the form of a training bracelet!!  That’s right, I’m giving one away.  To enter, please go to Endorphin Warrior and tell me which training/life mantra you’d choose and why.  Bonus entries available (please enter a separate comment for each):
+1 follow Endorphin Warrior on Facebook 
+1 follow Endorphin Warrior on Twitter
+1 follow ME on twitter

Because it’s a week of giveaways, you’ve got be quick on the draw here…Contest open until 9am (eastern) tomorrow, Tuesday, 4/23/2013.  Winner will be chosen randomly and announced in tomorrow’s post. 

Happy training!!  BELIEVE!!

* Disclosure: I was sent an Endorphin Warrior training bracelet to review and giveaway on this ole blog.  The opinions, and mantra chosen, are mine.

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Races, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to It’s Race Week–Race Day Essentials #1 {Giveaway}

  1. katiemoves says:

    My mantra would also be Believe. Sometimes I have trouble doubting myself too much!

  2. Love these! I bought a similar mantra bracelet after a life event a few years ago. Love the idea of seeing the reminder right in front of you. I choose PERSEVERE. I’m not a runner but I am on a mission to be in killer shape and to grow a successful business. This definition resonates with me, “to persist in anything undertaken; maintain a PURPOSE in spite of difficulty, obstacles, or discouragement; continue steadfastly.” Already following you on Twitter 😉 Good luck with prep/race week and good luck in Eugene!!

  3. Love these! I bought a similar mantra bracelet after a life event a few years ago. Love the idea of seeing the reminder right in front of you. I choose PERSEVERE. I’m not a runner but I am on a mission to be in killer shape and to build a successful business. This definition resonates with me, “to persist in anything undertaken; maintain a PURPOSE in spite of difficulty, obstacles, or discouragement; continue steadfastly.” Already following you on Twitter 😉 Good luck with prep/race week ad good luck in Eugene!!

  4. Molto Vivace says:

    Love the bracelets! I’d choose CONQUER. I like to set a goal and conquer it. I may not be the fastest or the best at something, but I conquer it!

  5. Molto Vivace says:

    Followed Endorphin Warrior on FB (I’m supposed to do a sep comment for each, right?)

  6. Molto Vivace says:

    Followed Endorphin Warrior on Twitter.

  7. Molto Vivace says:

    Followed you on Twitter!

  8. Kathryn says:

    I would choose COURAGE….I think I really struggle with being confident in my abilities and trusting in my training….and I also think I struggle with the courage to really “go for it” sometimes…this would be a great reminder!! Good luck this week!!

  9. Kathryn says:

    Followed EW on FB!

  10. Page says:

    I’d simply put “warrior” on my bracelet thanks to my dad’s recent motto. I also follow you on Twitter and have followed EW on FB and TW 🙂

  11. Kristen L says:

    I think these bracelets are beautiful! I would choose one that says “Strength”. Believing I am strong really helps me get through so much.

  12. Kristen L says:

    I follow you on twitter!

  13. Landi says:

    I love these bracelets! I would wear the Fearless one. It’s my running mantra. Good luck in Eugene!

  14. Landi says:

    I follow you on twitter.

  15. Landi says:

    I follow EW on twitter.

  16. Landi says:

    I follow EW on Facebook. Thanks for doing a giveaway!

  17. Terzah says:

    I would choose PERSEVERE. Here’s the definition: “Continue in a course of action even in the face of difficulty or with little or no indication of success.” Pretty much defines my BQ quest!

  18. Terzah says:

    I follow you on Twitter. :^) Hopefully will see you and Corey in Eugene. I hear there won’t be too much lingering in the finish area.

  19. Terzah says:

    I follow Endorphin Warrior on Twitter, too.

  20. Allison says:

    I would choose ‘strength’ because running requires both physical and mental strength! Thanks for introducing me to the endorphin warrior jewelry. Cool stuff!

  21. Allison says:

    Just followed Endorphin warrior on twitter!

  22. Allison says:

    I follow you on twitter too!

  23. Shani says:

    Followed Endorphin Warrior on twitter: ButterfliesSky

  24. Shani says:

    Liked Endorphin Warrior on FB: Shani Smet

  25. Shani says:

    Following you on twitter: ButterfliesSky

  26. Shani says:

    I would love the ‘Believe’ bracelet.I have a dream to get better treatment by going to the US.I have Lupus and am not doing very well here in Europe.So I have a fundraiser and such going on.So far so good.But I’d love this bracelet to represent by believing in my dreams and wishes,having the patience-I’ll get there eventually 🙂

Leave a Reply

