Race Day Essentials #2 {Giveaway}

It’s so nice to keep my mind occupied by telling you about and giving away some of my favorite race day essentials.  Killing the taper crazies one giveaway at a time.

Today, I’m going to focus on nutrition.  Specifically my pre-race (+ often post-race) snack of choice.  If you’ve read my blog for a while, you probably know that I’m gluten intolerant and allergic to soy.  What I haven’t talked much about is that lately, my stomach has decided dairy isn’t a good idea before races (unless I want to make it a race to the porta potty).  Enter Picky Bars — delicious, made with REAL ingredients, AND allergy friendly.  Created by pro athletes (hello, Lauren, Jesse, Steph) for all athletes, they are the perfect 4:1 carb/protein balance for recovery post-workout.  I’ve found these bars also work well as a pre-workout/race snack.

Picky Bars

I was first introduced to Picky Bars at the Eugene Marathon expo in 2011.  Fitting that I’m including them on my race must have list as I prepare to once again tackle the Eugene Marathon on Sunday.  I joined the Picky Club in early 2012 and now, I eagerly stalk my mailbox around the 10th of each month for my fix club shipment.  And lest you think these bars are only good to/for those with food allergies, I’ve had to double my club order as Batch eats them all the time too!!

The rad folks at Picky Bars want to share the Picky love with one of you via a sampler pack.  You’ll get 1 of each of the 4 awesome flavors (and shh, there’s a new flavor coming soon so be sure to keep checking the website for details!)

Sampler 4 Pack

To enter, let me know which Picky Bar is your favorite (or if you’re new to the Picky world, which one you’re most looking forward to trying) and why.

Bonus entries (must leave a separate comment for each):
+1:  follow Picky Bars on Twitter
+1: follow Picky Bars on FB
+1: follow FashionableMile on Twitter

*Note: I received nothing in return for holding this contest- besides the joy of spreading some Picky love with y’all!  Picky Bars is providing the prize for this contest ‘cause they’re way cool like that.  Contest open until 8am eastern 4/25/2013– US residents only (sorry).

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Races, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Race Day Essentials #2 {Giveaway}

  1. Nice! I have so been wanting to try these! My husband can’t eat gluten or dairy, and recently I’ve also pinned dairy as the culprit for some stomach issues. I am looking forward to trying the Smooth Caffeinator–hazelnut mocha? Umm, yes, please!

  2. Leah F. says:

    I have heard awesome things about these bars! I follow Picky Bars on facebook and twitter. I follow you on twitter! Have an awesome taper!

  3. Leah K says:

    I have always wanted to try one of these bars! Now that I’ve recently learned my body can’t handle gluten I’m dying to try the All in Almond!

  4. Leah K says:

    I follow PickyBars already on twitter!

  5. Leah K says:

    I also follow them on FB 🙂

  6. Leah K says:

    Yay! I hope to win and I now follow FashionableMile of twitter!

  7. Kristen L says:

    I’m a follower on Twitter of yours

  8. Kristen L says:

    I also follow picky bars on twitter

  9. Kristen L says:

    And, I would love to have the Lauren’s Mega Nuts bar!

  10. Ahh obsessed with Picky Bars! Smooth caf is my favorite. Your blog is super cute – good luck at Eugene !!

  11. Also, I follow Picky Bars on twitter

  12. And I just followed you too 🙂

  13. Madison says:

    I have not tried Picky Bars yet, but I really want to try Lauren’s Mega Nuts!

  14. Madison says:

    I followed Picky Bars on Twitter.

  15. Madison says:

    I liked Picky Bars on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

