Building Strength

As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been working with a trainer 1-2 times a week for about a year now.  I credit the addition of these workouts to how well I was running last spring and to keeping me sane while I was taking a little break from the roads in the fall.  Our workouts are different each week – seriously I don’t think we ever do the same thing 2 weeks in a row.  That’s not to say we never repeat a move, but generally not weekly.  It keeps things interesting and helps us use/develop all parts of each muscle.  For illustration purposes, I’m including pictures of our last 2 Tuesday workouts (sorry, pics of print outs aren’t the best).  The first was a timed workout with multiple muscle groups included in each time set.  The 2nd was a more “traditional” workout in that each set included just 1 “body part” (i.e. legs, shoulders, etc) but it also included some not-so-traditional moves.

IMG_4318 IMG_4317

I know strength training is key to successful running and life for me.  For too many years I was so focused on cardio, I neglected strength.  In addition to working out with Stefani on Tuesday mornings, she writes a workout I do on my own on Thursday mornings (well, most of the time).  Thursday is usually a compliment to Tuesday and varies depending on what’s on my running/racing schedule for the upcoming weekend.

What about y’all?  Strength train yay or nay?

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Building Strength

  1. A big YAY to strength training! I’ve always known the importance of it, but made the mistake of not prioritizing it for too long. So after having to skip my fall marathon for the second year in a row due to an overuse injury, I decided enough was enough. I’ve been doing strength work 3-4 times a week since I couldn’t run (November-ish) and I’ve been keeping it up since I started running again a few weeks ago. I can see huge changes not only in my body from an aesthetics standpoint, but getting back into running has been SO much easier than ever before. And I have high hopes that my chronically weak glutes and core are finally getting strong enough so that my likelihood of injury will drastically be decreased!

  2. elizabeth says:

    yay yay- pilates and whatever my coach assigns for the week is my go-to for strength. i like having someone tell me what to do and when to do it.

Leave a Reply

