A Few of my Favorite Things

I owe y’all a big training update post. I had one drafted but my ancient PC crashed and now it’s lost…I should re-write it, but now I have something different in mind. One key thing to know, it’s going WELL!! YAY!

In the interim, here are some of my current favorites:

Shop/Fashion: MADEWELL
Their spring/summer line is top notch so far. The last time I went in to my local store I literally wanted to buy 1 of everything! I’ve always been a JCrew fan, but now that I work from home, I find the more casual/laid back feel of Madewell more suited to my needs. They have slightly dressier options too, but I’m obsessed with how they can make boy-styling look so feminine and appealing.  Here are 4 of my current favs:

Madewell flares Madewell shorts Madewell skirtmadewell vest

Food: Oatmeal with eggwhites
I know, Oatmeal topped with a fried/poached egg is nothing new, and I’m sure this version isn’t new either, but it’s new to me and I’m loving it! I use GF oats and egg whites from the carton, but obviously you can use whichever version you have/want.
1/2 cup GF oats
1/3 cup egg whites
2/3 cup almond milk
mix well (important so the egg doesn’t clump), microwave for 1 minute, mix again (I use a fork vs spoon to help break up the clumps), microwave for another minute, mix, 30 more seconds in the micro if needed.
This version gives you ~12-14g protein per serving which makes for a great post-workout breakfast!

Workout: Swimming!
My friend Katie has taken on the role as our unofficial/official swim coach lately and gave us this great basic workout framework that can seriously be used by anyone for any distance set!  The option shown below was by 500 (obviously) and totals 2700 w/ cool down, but you can change it to something shorter or longer to suit your needs.

1. Swim
2. Pull
3. Breathing ladders by 100 x5 (3,5,5,3; 3,5,7,5; 5,7,7,5)
4. Drill/kick/choice/swim by 25 (Drill 25 yards, kick, back/breast/fly, swim) x5
5. 5 x 100 on 2:10; 2:00; 1:50 (depending on pace)
Cool down: 200 pull

Breathing ladders are so hard but I really do think they work to improve lung capacity.

Gear: Toolbelt Rogas!
Finally, Oiselle made a #roga with pocket capacity to rival the beloved #distance shorts. These shorts are awesome – they stayed in place during my 20 miler, didn’t chafe at all, and held all my fuel.  *Happy Dance*  {While not available online yet, check with your local Oiselle dealer as they are available in stores!  Jacksonville – go see JRC!}

IMG_4407

What are y’all lovin’ lately??  Happy Wednesday, y’all!!

About fashionablemiles

30-something runner, triathlete and wannabe fashionista
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Few of my Favorite Things

  1. Love those new shorts!
    I will occasionally have eggs WITH my oatmeal but definitely not inside. Im not sure i love the idea of mixing but Maybe I’ll try it!

    • trust me, i was SUPER skeptical when my husband first made the oatmeal with egg whites. I was like a little kid taking the tiniest bite, but it’s surprisingly delish! i find it just makes the oatmeal a little more creamy – i use the same toppings i would w/o the egg.

  2. elizabeth says:

    dying for those shorts!! might be perfect for bayshore after i lost fuel in my belt the last race. and, must try that oatmeal. i’ve been on a kick lately but adding protein would be great.

    • i’ve wanted these shorts since i saw Sally “testing” them last summer. they are awesome! try west stride – if they ordered some, they will likely already have them in store. you probably want to try them on anyway with the new sizing (2-12 vs xs-xl) – i think you’ll love the new sizes!
      on the oatmeal, i used to add a scoop of protein powder, but it definitely changed the taste. i find the egg whites to be a good protein source w/o changing the flavor profile of the oatmeal 🙂

Leave a Reply

